Lunch at Ubon

20120206-145617.jpg

After nagging Rashed a fellow colleague at Uni who’s one of the owners of the new soon to be hottest place in town Ubon Thai, on their opening date, he was kind enough to invite me and King over to try their food. King and I love Thai food and we always wondered why we didn’t have any Thai restaurants in Kuwait. Our favorite is Busaba in London which we go to like a thousand times whenever we’re in London.
As soon as I walked into the place it was so obvious that it was designed by Rashed and his partner Dawoud that are both Architects. The place is so well designed it just makes u feel so comfortable.
We sat down and chatted with Rashed then we were ready to dig in!

20120206-145914.jpg

We started of with their Jumbo shrimps, banana-leaf chicken and fresh salad.

King LOVED the jumbo shrimps, and for a person that doesn’t like shrimps a lot, I also loved it!
The banana-leaf chicken on the other hand was heaven in my mouth! And the whole experience of unwrapping them and dipping them in the sauce added more fun to my taste buds!

20120206-150458.jpg

King had their Tom Yum soup and he thought it was the best he ever had! I only took a sip of it and it burnt my tongue cause he ordered it super spicy so I didn’t really form an opinion :p

Now the reason why King and I love Thai food!! The curries!!! *YUM*

20120206-151056.jpg

We had the green chicken curry and red meat curry with jasmine and garlic rice.
Compared to Busaba, this is even better! So fragrant, so fresh and so flavorful! It really made us very happy!

I had to force myself to stop eating so I could leave some room for dessert and I’m so glad I did.

20120206-152011.jpg

20120206-152019.jpg

We had fried bananas with a honey dip and Thai iced coffee. The fried bananas were so light and their texture was the right mix of crispy and tender. The iced coffee is another story! I think as soon as the open I would be passing there every morning for it.

Ubon is located in Kuwait City and set to open soon, Rashed please hurry up or I’ll be demanding another visit :p
Follow them on twitter @ubonkw to find out exactly when they open.

2 thoughts on “Lunch at Ubon

Leave a Reply

